in quest of the best web sites for collectors

Tokelau Stamps

Tokelau, formerly known as the Union Islands, consists of a group of three atolls in the South Pacific, north of Samoa.

Originally settled by Polynesian emigrants from surrounding island groups, the islands became a British protectorate in 1889 under the administration of the Gilbert & Ellice Islands. They were incorporated into that colony in 1916, but in 1925 became a New Zealand dependency and were administered from Western Samoa. The name of Tokelau was adopted in 1946.


Tokelau Stamps

The Tokelau Islands have had much of their history, culture, lifestyle, handicrafts and geography recorded on stamps, some of which are displayed here in Jane Resture's collection.